Historic City HallThe City of Springfield operates under the council-manager form of government, a system that combines the policy leadership of elected officials in the form of a city council, with the managerial expertise of an appointed city manager.

City Council
By Charter, the city has 8 council members who are each elected for a four-year term on a non-partisan basis, and a mayor who is elected for a two-year term. The presiding officer at council meetings is the mayor.

City Manager & City Attorney
The city manager is appointed by the council and serves as the chief administrative officer of the organization. The city manager is responsible for administration of city affairs, day-to-day operations, and implementation of council policies. The city attorney advises and represents the city and council in all legal affairs.

Government in Action
Council meetings begin at 6:30 p.m. every other Monday at Historic City Hall, 830 Boonville Avenue. In addition, there are lunch meetings each Tuesday, which begin at noon. Council meetings can be seen on Mediacom channels 15.1 and 80 and AT&T Uverse channel 99, or viewed online. If there are issues that you wish to bring to the attention of the mayor or the council member representing the district in which you live, visit the City Council page to contact them. If you are unsure which council zone you reside in, check the map of council districts.