Solve a Neighborhood Problem - Contact Your PAR Officer

Solving Issues


You can call 911 and ask for an officer to come out which may solve the problem in the short-term. However, you know from experience that it will happen again. What you want is to have the underlying problems resolved so that these incidents stop and don't happen again. This may be a long-term problem that can be solved by your Police Area Representative (PAR) officer.

PAR Officers


Springfield is divided into three zones (north, south and center city) for the purposes of Community Oriented Policing. Currently, two PAR officers are assigned to each zone and they are a part of the Community Services Section (CSS). When PAR officers get involved in a neighborhood issue, their job is not to find fault or place blame, but to coordinate and facilitate efforts in hopes of solving the identified problem. PAR officers work with all involved parties and request assistance from other departments within the city when necessary in an effort to accomplish their goal. PAR officers have received extensive training in handling conflict and resolving long-standing problems.

Contacting a PAR Officer


If you're having an ongoing problem in your neighborhood and would like to discuss it with your PAR officer, first determine what police response area (or zone) you live in by checking the zone map (or call 864-1810 if you need further assistance). Find your neighborhood's PAR officer in the table below and leave a message for him. PAR officers work a varying schedule and may not be available when you call, but will return your call as soon as possible. If you need immediate assistance or feel that your problem can't wait, call 911.

Community Services Section      
CSS Commander Lt. Jennifer Charleston 417-864-1563 jcharleston@springfieldmo.gov 
CSS Supervisor Sgt. Nelson Kibby 417-864-1193 nkibby@springfieldmo.gov
CSS Special Events Coordinator Cpl. Chris Welsh 417-864-1727 cwelsh@springfieldmo.gov
Northwest PAR Officer Officer Zachary Pugh 417-864-2537 zpugh@springfieldmo.gov
Northeast PAR Officer Officer Zach Schlup 417-874-2536 zschlup@springfieldmo.gov
Southwest PAR Officer Officer Christopher Laughlin 417-864-1138 claughlin@springfieldmo.gov
Center City North PAR Officer Officer Jacob Miller (temporarily until Ofc. Grundy's return) 417-864-1140 jwmiller@springfieldmo.gov
Center City South PAR Officer Officer Keith Wright 417-864-1194 kwright@springfieldmo.gov
Southeast PAR Officer Officer Jacob Boomgaarden 417-864-1321 jboomgaarden@springfieldmo.gov
Business Watch Officer Officer Casandra Lightwine 417-864-1195 clightwine@springfieldmo.gov
Crime Prevention Officer Officer Laura Kitta 417-864-1320 Lkitta@springfieldmo.gov
Crime Prevention Officer Officer Jacob Miller 417-864-1140 jwmiller@springfieldmo.gov

Connect with us on Nextdoor